Facebook maybe listening after all, or is it the influence of Google +.
In the next couple of days, Facebook will release a major revamp of the privacy settings.
The revamp will affect both the profile and the way others share information about you as well as how your posts, images… are shared.
The privacy settings, although extensive were still confusing and somewhat hidden under the “account” tab.
The new privacy settings will be on the profile page (in the edit section), more intuitive, you will be able to decide who sees what on your profile section by section
When it comes to sharing, Facebook is implementing a number of new changes and making them easier to understand and apply.
- You will be able to tag anybody if they are on Facebook, not just your friends. When you do so, the person tagged will receive a notice and will have the option to accept or remove the tag
- You can set your settings to allow your friends to tag you without your approval (I would not recommend it though)
- Before you post anything to your wall, you will see a drop down menu that will allow you to decide who sees the content (public, friends or custom).
- A little known privacy feature allowed users to control tags in the past. In the new version, when somebody tags you, you will have the option to remove the tag, ask the person who posted the tag to remove the photo or video or block the person.
Facebook privacy settings are quite extensive but you still have to take the time to learn them and understand how they work and use them accordingly.